Lisa Murkowski Wins Re-Election In U.S. Senate, Mike Dunleavy First Alaska Governor To Win Re-Election Since 1998: Projection


Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) has won re-election after state officials finished a final round of vote-counting in the state’s ranked choice voting system.

Murkowski won re-election over Republican challenger Kelly Tshibaka Wednesday evening in a ranked choice runoff because neither candidate reached 50% on the ballot.

After the second-choice votes were counted, Murkowski ended up beating Tshibaka, 53.7% to 46.3%.

“I am honored that Alaskans — of all regions, backgrounds and party affiliations — have once again granted me their confidence to continue working with them and on their behalf in the U. S. Senate,” Murkowski said in a statement after the results were announced. “I look forward to continuing the important work ahead of us.”

Alaska Governor Mike Dunleavy also won re-election, becoming the state’s first governor since 1998 to do so.

“Alaskans, thank you for voting and for your continued support over the past four years,” he said in a statement. “From public safety and improving our education outcomes to growing our economy, I am honored to serve Alaskans for another four years.”... (Read more)

Submitted 300 days ago

Latest News