Full Buck Moon: Lunar eclipse will occur on July 4

From WWW.FOX5DC.COM

Fireworks are not the only spectacle in store for sky-gazers this Fourth of July.

U. S. residents reveling in Independence Day festivities will get a prime-time view of a penumbral lunar eclipse that is expected to take over the night sky starting at 11:04 p.m. EDT (8:04 p.m. PDT) on July 4 and end at 1:56 a.m. EDT on July 5 (10:56 p.m. PDT on July 4), according to Almanac.com.

The eclipse will be brought on by what’s commonly known as the “Full Buck Moon,” and will be visible from most of North America, except the northernmost regions of Canada and Alaska.

While the celestial showcase is certainly something to look forward to, experts say this specific type of eclipse is bit harder to notice.

According to Earthsky.org, there are three kinds of lunar eclipses: a total eclipse, a partial eclipse and a penumbral ... (Read more)

Submitted 1 day ago


Latest News